Skip to Main Content

Phishing Scam Alert: Fake Blackboard Notifications

Blackboard email notifications do not require you to sign in

October 10, 2013 2:09 PM

A new phishing scam is attempting to fool people into providing personal information by claiming that there is a Blackboard notification waiting for them, and provides a link for logging into Blackboard. Do not click this link.

Blackboard email notifications do not require you to sign in to Blackboard to read them, the information is provided in the email itself.  Always visit http://my.umbc.edu directly to log into Blackboard or by typing it in the address bar, or using your own bookmarks/favorites.

Here is an example of the phishing email to watch out for:

Good Morning,

Your school has posted an important information regarding a course for you.

You are required to immediately sign in to Blackboard Learn.

Click here to sign in to Blackboard Learn

Thank you.

Blackboard Learn Notifications.

Here is another example:

Good Morning,

An important course form has been posted to you on the Blackboard Learn System.

Click here to confirm the form

Thank you.

Blackboard Learn Notifications.

0 Comments (requires login)